New APS Fellows, Isaacson Awardee and Einstein Prize

Please join us in congratulating the new 2020 DGRAV APS Fellows, and the most recent recipients of the Isaacson and Einstein Awards!

Isaacson Award in Gravitational-Wave Science:
Beverly Berger
For supporting and expanding the community of scientists engaged in gravitational-wave research, and for fostering an international network of researchers devoted to theory and experimentation.

Einstein Prize:
Clifford Will (University of Florida)
Saul Teukolsky (Cornell and Caltech)
For outstanding contributions to observational tests of general relativity with theories of gravitational waves, astrophysical black holes, and neutron stars.

DGRAV APS Fellows:
Paul Anderson (Wake Forest University)
For significant contributions to the understanding of quantum field theory in curved spacetime applied to black hole and cosmological spacetimes.

Bernd Bruegmann (Friedrich Schiller University, Jena)
For important contributions to numerical relativity, including the development of preeminent techniques for the numerical modeling of black holes and neutron stars, as well as pioneering simulations of compact binary mergers.

Sanjeev Dhurandhar (Inter University Centre for Astronomy & Astrophysics)
For foundational contributions to the theoretical underpinnings of gravitational wave detection, especially in data analysis techniques, and for the development of India’s gravitational wave community leading to LIGO-India.

Carol A. Wilkinson (Cornell)
For playing a crucial role in the successful construction of Advanced LIGO.