Regional Meetings and Best Student Presentation Awards

An award, sponsored by the Division of Gravitational Physics, for best presentation by a student will be made at each of the following annual regional meetings:

  • East Coast Gravity Meeting EGM21
  • Midwest Relativity Meeting MRM28
  • Gulf Coast Gravity Meeting GCGM8
  • Pacific Coast Gravity Meeting PCGM35

The award is $200 and gives the recipient the right to advertise her/himself as winning the Division of Gravitational Physics Best Student Presentation at the particular meeting.

Criteria governing the award:

  • The only candidates are those who have not yet officially received PhD degrees.
  • A member of the Division shall organize the judging of presentations. Judges may include faculty members and postdoctoral associates, but are not to include students.
  • The criteria for winning shall be a continuation of the criteria previously used for the award of the Bell prize at Pacific Coast Gravity Meetings. This means, in particular, that the quality of the research and of the presentation will be weighted as the judges see fit.
  • The Division member taking responsibility for organizing the judging will notify the Secretary-Treasurer, in advance of the meeting, and will notify the Secretary-Treasurer of the outcome of the judging, including contact information for the winner. The Secretary-Treasurer will then arrange to have the prize money sent to the winner.
  • The prize can be split, but this is strongly discouraged.


Congratulations to all of our past winners:

Year Meeting Speaker Talk title
2018 MRM28 Maya Fishbach (University of Chicago) A standard siren measurement of the Hubble constant from GW170817 without the electromagnetic counterpart
2018 EGM21 Laura Johnson (CWRU) Partially Massless Decoupling Limit of Massive Gravity
Oliver Janssen (NYU) The no-boundary proposal: alive and well
2018 PCGM34 Maria Okounkova (Caltech) On choosing the start time of binary black hole ringdown
2017 MWRM27 Katelyn Breivik (Northwestern) Revealing the Milky Way’s black hole population with Gaia
2017 EGM20 Beatrice Bonga (Penn State) On the Conceptual Confusion in the Notion of Transverse-Traceless Modes
Rahul Kashyap (U Mass Dartmouth) Type Ia Supernovae through Spiral Instability in Binary White Dwarf Mergers
2017 PCGM33 Maximiliano Isi (Caltech) Polarizations of continuous gravitational waves in the advanced detector era
2016 MWRM26 Zoheyr Doctor (University of Chicago) Gravitational Wave Emulation Using Gaussian Process Regression
2016 EGM19 Jim Mertens (CWRU) Computing Observables in an Inhomogeneous Universe using Numerical Relativity
2016 PCGM32 Matt Giesler (Caltech) Nearly extremal binary black hole simulations
2015 EGM18 Béatrice Bonga (Penn State) The quadrupole formula with a positive cosmological constant
2015 GCGM8 Hector Okada da Silva (Ole Miss) A post-TOV formalism for relativistic stars
2015 MRM25 Hsin-Yu Chen (University of Chicago) Optimizing gravitational wave sources followup strategies
2014 EGM17 Philippe Landry (Guelph) Relativistic theory of surficial Love numbers
2014 MRM24 Kartik Prabhu (University of Chicago) Growth rate of black hole instabilities
2013 GCGM7 Laleh Sadeghian (WUSTL) Dark matter distributions around massive black holes: A fully general relativistic approach
2013 MRM23 Ben Farr (Northwestern)
2012 MRM22 Justin Ellis (UWM)
2012 PCGM28 Benson Way (UCSB)  Finite Size Effects in Holographic Superconductors
2011 MRM21 Stephen Green (University of Chicago)
2010 MRM20 Benjamin Lackey (UWM)
2009 MRM19 Sam Gralla (University of Chicago) Electromagnetic Analog of Binary Black Hole Bobbing and Kicks
2008 GCGM4 Ian Vega (University of Florida) Field regularization for self-force problems
2008 MRM18 Sam Gralla (University of Chicago)
2007 MRM17 Jocelyn Read (UWM)
2007 GCGM3 Enrique Pazos (LSU) The effects of the background geometry on the extracted waveforms
2006 MRM16 Nicolas Yunes (Penn State) How to Kick a Hole and Other Eccentric Stories
2005 MRM15 Branson Stephens
2005 EGM8 Chad Middleton (University of Tennessee, Knoxville) Constrained Perturbative Expansion of the DGP Model
2005 PCGM21 Joey Shapiro-Key (Montana State University) Extending the WMAP Bound on the Size of the Universe
2004 PCGM20 Henriette Elvang (UCSB) Black Rings: Non-uniqueness of Black Holes in Supergravity
Louis Rubbo (Montana State University) Identification and Subtraction of Bright Galactic Binaries from LISA Data
2004 MRM14 Ishai Ben-Dov (University of Chicago)
2003 MRM13 William Komp (UWM)
2003 PCGM19 Henriette Elvang (UCSB) Bubbles and Black Holes
2002 MRM12 Matthew Duez (UIUC)
1999 PCGM15 Teviet Creighton (Caltech) Atmospheric gravity gradients: a low-frequency noise limit for LIGO
1997 PCGM13 Teviet Creighton (Caltech) Search techniques for periodic gravitational waves
1994 PCGM10 Rhett Herman (Montana State University) Charged pair production in the Reissner-Nordstrom black hole interior

If you know of a winner not listed here, please contact us.