2017 Nobel Prize in Physics to LIGO architects

Dear DGRAV Members,

The Division of Gravitational Physics congratulates DGRAV members Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish, and Kip Thorne for winning the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics!

The prize recognizes their crucial leadership in envisioning, designing, and building LIGO. Of course, many other DGRAV members and scientists around the world have also contributed to the successful realization of LIGO and the detection of gravitational waves, as well as understanding the astrophysics of gravitational-wave signals and developing new detectors.

We can all be proud of the recognition this award has brought to the field of gravitational physics.

From the DGRAV Executive Committee